And… the Cubs Win!

The Cubs won the World Series. And just like that, a drought of over 100 years has ended. Making it to the World Series was history enough, a feat unaccomplished for over 70 years, ever since the infamous Curse of the Billy Goat in 1945. I haven’t followed baseball for many years now, but that dormant fan within me feels just a smidgen of pride to have witnessed such history. Never mind that I was quietly rooting for the Cleveland Indians – that was more about trying to win a bet than anything else. Sadly, I am out ten bucks.

For just today, I wish I was a Cubs fan. I want to feel that elation so evident on the faces of every player and diehard fan. I’m happy and I think it’s pretty darn cool, but I don’t care enough to walk around with an overwhelming aura of glee surrounding me. Maybe I should get back into sports, but that’s a serious commitment and will require some thought. Besides, nothing will ever really be as exciting as the Cubs winning the World Series.

Instead, I watched the CMA Awards for most of the night. While the majority of America sat on their couches watching the Indians tie the game in the bottom of the eighth, I was standing in my living room, singing along to country music. I’d like to think my singing powers did the Cubs some good. It definitely didn’t hurt. The words of Luke Brian’s M-O-V-E seemed to have gotten something moving after all. I am humbly accepting gratuities from all parties interested in offering thanks.

.

Leave a comment